God Slays, But You Blame the Pussy

I keep reading the Bible. Started with Genesis recently, where there are two instances of men hiding their sin: naked Adam and murdering Cain. Instead of seeking God, both run away. When faced with the ultimate authority, neither one confesses, asks forgiveness, and repents. 

Where is Abel? Am I my brother’s keeper? That tactic of avoidance is one I am accustomed to being dismissed with. I’m also used to the one Adam used: Well, you she started it! I would have behaved with integrity but someone else prevented me!

And Judah. Judah who raised wicked sons. Judah who lived in a culture that was ok with prostitution. Judah who felt like screwing some “harlot” by the wayside (who by the way had covered herself with a veil) but was ready to burn Tamar when someone told him she had also been fornicating. 

The Bible is full of examples of men so busy betraying women and holding women to a higher moral standard that these men never stop and look at themselves. As a man, you should really ask yourself, “Am I like Cain? Am I haughty like Lamech, a polygamous bully? Am I deceitful and whorish like Judah? Would I send my own daughters out to a rapey crowd like Lot?” The truth is, these men did wrong and we suffer today for it.

Men continue to opt out of holding one another accountable. And instead of loving women, they use and destroy them. And have no mercy. God always shows mercy, but men do not. Men behave as though they were above God’s law.

Leave a Reply

